Web 2.0 Digital Footprint – Step 1

8 Sep

To search “Carl Farrell” on google is of little use. This identity is muddled by the many faces the name serves. As far as this powerful search engine can tell, Carl Farrell is a vice president, an athlete, a gaming director and an oil executive.

Clearly, to find my digital footprint, I must look deeper. I must use more details.

My email: brings up nothing.

My full name: useless.

However, the combination of my name and my respective program at Ryerson seems to help. “Carl Farrell New Media.” This will show many results, few of any relevance to me, but with a little searching, I have managed to find something. There is my name – my own personal identity – followed by the documentary that I authored for a competition. A film, that I produced and filmed as a teenager, distractedly illustrating the beauty of my home town.

As a student, and a hopeful candidate for a job, in the field of New Media, it is important that my impression on the web is of the utmost quality. I depend on my digital identity. It must illustrate my skill and ambition. Thus, what people see should be what I want them to see.

Currently, my identity is of little use. It is barely visible. This is neither negative nor positive. It will not hurt my career, but it won’t aid in any way. Ideally, this is not what I want. If my name is searched, I would like the viewer to see my talent. I want them to leave saying “this guy knows his stuff”.

As such, I feel that I must be able to find a way to show my portfolio. This is my goal.

Leave a comment